Skip to content

The end of text?

December 20, 2007

At least one person thinks the increase in Internet bandwidth and the consequent increase use of audio and video will lead to a decline in the use of text in the coming years.

While it may decline, I think there will always be a place for text, mostly because some ideas are just harder to articulate with audio or video.

I’m much smarter when I can write, instead of speaking extemporaneously. It gives me time to think about what I’m trying to say and choose the exact words I want to use to make my point.

Rarely are the words used in my first draft the ones that survive through to a final draft. I see speaking (audio and video) as a first draft. It’s not my best work.

Do you have to send the first draft of audio and video you produce as a message? No, but how many people do multiple drafts? How many people write a script for what they’re going to say in audio or video?

Certainly there is a place for audio and video…it brings people closer to the message and the messenger. It’s wonderful those tools are now available to the general public. But, there are times when text is the best way for the writer to articulate their thoughts best, and where a reflective audience can take some time with what the author is trying to say.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

